Some people regard work as the most important thing in life and have little interest in anything else. Other people are most enthusiastic about their hobbies and leisure interest than their jobs. Discuss both of the attitudes and give your opinion.

Some individuals consider work to be the most essential aspect of their lives, and they are uninterested in anything else. Others are more inclined towards their hobbies and personal life than they are about their employment. In my opinion, both aspects of life are important to live a satisfactory and meaningful life. This essay aims to discuss the same in detail. First of all, ever increasing competition has led to normalization of working more than 40 hours a week. Even though humans might not be as productive as they can be if a balance is restored in their lives, they feel obligated to work for more than their capacity. For instance, people working in Big 4 consultancies lose their productivity and concentration in work due to long working hours and lack of sleep. Consequently, this leads to a decrease in quality of work as well as life. In contrast, the sole emphasis on lifestyle and leisure activities can cause financial distress. Although some people have succeeded in pursuing their passion and maintaining lifestyles, everyone might not have the luxury to even pursue their passion. Even if they do so, they might get into serious financial trouble. For example, even though many people experienced an extreme burn out in their jobs in the pandemic, they couldn’t leave their jobs due to financial obligations. As a result, lifestyle and hobbies took a backseat completely. To conclude, a work - life balance is the key to a content and prosperous life. A balance needs to be maintained in the professional environment for the welfare of the employees and the companies themselves.