Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

A society is made up of its members and has its own set of rules and by-laws that define the proper behaviour for those who live in it. These guiding principles are essential for avoiding conflict by clearly defining society's dos and don'ts. However, these regulations should not obstruct individual preferences and choices, as this might lead to a schism between those in authority and those who are ruled. To begin with, social regulations are a must-have for a perfect society to function. There will be probable contradictions among people if this does not happen, because everyone has their own style of thinking. In our community, for example, there is a by-law prohibiting the production of any form of annoying noise after 10 p.m. This rule ensures that, even if someone is organising a function, music must be turned off after the prescribed hour to ensure that no one else is disturbed. On the other hand, these laws and regulations should not interfere with an individual's personal decisions because it violates the general public's individual autonomy. To give an example, the Indian government considered making it illegal to sell and consume beef in India, which has resulted in a condition of anarchy in society. The government is imposing its personal preferences over individual choices in this manner. To summarise, the preceding reasons show that having a well defined set of rules and regulations is necessary for society to function and avoid ambiguity, but it is also critical to ensure that these laws do not obstruct individual autonomy.