Development in technology has brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Thanks to the technological development, human beings are now living in the greatest technological boom times in human history. Therefore, numerous environmental problems are unavoidable. Some claim that people need to live a simple lives to tackle these problems while others say that these problems are only can be dealed with by using technology. From my perspective, I firmly lean towards the latter and this essay will discuss these two viewpoints in depth. There is no denying that living a simple live is advantageous to a certain extent. To begin with, it is obvious that less emissions would be emitted into the atmostphere if people would not use their private vehicles. Instead, they could use public transportation system such as buses, trains or taxis. Moreover, to those coming from affluent families, they could use hybrid transport vehicles or electric cars instead of the normal cars. Secondly, the over-exploitation of natural resources such as fossil fuels is the main culprit of global warming. People have to use fossil fuels for the industrial activities in order to provide energy for every household. Hence, that is the reason why many contend that a simple live would lead to a better world in the future. However, several feasible solutions can be implemented to alleviate plenty of various environmental problems by making full use of modern technology. First of all, the government could allocate more funds to develop many alternatives sources of energy such as solar energy, wind energy,.... These are environmentally-friendly energy and it can only be used by modern machines. Given the proliferation of some renewable sources of energy, it would have a positive impact on the atmosphere and the world in a whole. In a nutshell, I strongly believe that people can make full use of the modern technology in order to remedy the aforementioned issues.