Some people think the newly built houses should be the same as the old house style in local areas. Others argue that local authorities should allow people to build houses in their own styles. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is argued that the architectural style of new buildings should be in accordance with existing buildings in an area, while others believe that people should have the freedom to design their own house. While there are some valid arguments for uniformity in architecture, I agree that buildings ’ designs should not be too heavily regulated. On the one hand, there are many reasons to require new buildings to follow the styles of existing structures. Advocates of this view believe that it would be better for heritage sites if certain aesthetic features are followed by housing contractors. For example, Venice, one of Italy’s most popular cities, is well-loved for its Gothic architecture with domed cathedrals and cobblestone arch bridges. Such harmonious building styles would not have been possible without strict building codes. Besides, a homogenous architecture style will ensure that people already living in an area will not be affected negatively by new structures. To be specific, in a town where terraced houses are predominant, constructing a tall and wide apartment complex can compromise or even damage the structural integrity of existing buildings. On the other hand, I would argue that people should enjoy a certain degree of freedom when building their houses. First, a diversity in architectural styles does not take away the beauty of an area. In fact, some of the world's most stunning cities - Tokyo, New York, and Singapore - feature varying urbanscapes with skyscrapers as well as classical architectures. These places can attract tourists from all over the world while still offering a variety of architecture styles. Conversely, forcing people to adopt a uniform style of building can make a neighborhood look boring and uninspired. For example, many planned suburbs which take a cookie-cutter approach to architecture look sterile and identical compared to a naturally developed city. In conclusion, although it is necessary to maintain some degree of architectural consistency in a historically important site, I still believe that modern buildings should be allowed to be unique to create more aesthetic diversity in an area.