Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

The game industry is currently starting to become a gigantic multi-billion dollar industry around the globe as people love to spend their leisure time playing those games, and are willing to pay more for their wishlist games. From my perspective, there are two reasons why people prefer to use their leisure time on computer games. However, it detrimentally impacts players in physical health and social connection. First of all, many people play PC games due to convenience and relaxation. Adults work in a highly competitive environment which causes them to get stressed easily, and these people rarely have time for other activities, so they choose computer games as it provides convenience. Computers currently are portable and lightweight. They can carry their devices to any place and any time. Moreover, due to the advancement of computer gaming, games are developed to have numerous features that match the personal preferences of each person. They can choose more games that correspond to their personal taste which create joy and relaxation for the players. On the other hand, spending too much time playing PC games damages players ’ physical health and social connection in the long term. To clarify, there are no physical exercise and movement when people spend several hours sitting in front of a screen, so this leads to symptoms such as back pain and obesity. In addition, it can also destroy eyesight blurred vision or pain since they have to expose to blue light for a long period of time. Furthermore, if players can not balance their virtual and real-life properly, they may become more of an introverted personality unnoticeably, which will loosen or tear down some relationships like friends, colleges or even family. In conclusion, even though playing computer games in their free time offers convenience and relaxation to its players, it causes players to be faced with physical health problems and social behaviour issues. Therefore, people should manage their time appropriately to not damage too much on their physical health and prevent long term social conflict.