Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities.

Nowadays local businesses seem to be defeated by the economic potential of large corporations that operate shopping malls and large chain stores. There are many people who believe that this is a hint of the collapse in the local economy. From my point of view, I strongly agree that small businesses play a vital role in the native communities and that their disappearance will have a negative impact. It can’t be denied that the chain of local stores is the main outlet for native products and if these disappear then factories will come to a standstill and jobs will be affected. Additionally, there will be shortages of agricultural products such as rice, vegetables and meat. Farmers will be hit the most, especially during the Covid 19 pandemic when the chain of transport has been interrupted. Additionally, products in supermarkets are far too expensive for most customers in developing countries who have been struggling to survive for a long time. Then, supermarkets are not accessible for those who live in the countryside and they are not all familiar with modern technologies such as making card payments. The whole aspect of this makes them confused, so they are happier shopping at a small store rather than a supermarket. In conclusion, I believe that although there are huge advantages to visiting a shopping mall, local stores still play a vital role in the lives of most people. They offer a sense of community and unique items, but I also think that competition will help them both develop.