In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in the age of Artificial Intelligence technology, we are able to experience driverless cars. It is so convenient that many people think that some constant transportation like buses and trucks will be manoeuvred by this auto system. In my view, this is a positive development and its benefits are much more significant than the drawbacks. People who advocate this change will be interested in the safety and convenience brought by driverless cars. All the past time, it is apparent that most of the errors are caused by human failures. A driverless cars with sophisticated software that is trained through long time periods, can carry out much more consistency in driving. By using these cars, incidents caused by DUI, falling as asleep by the wheel or phone distraction will be something of the past. For instance, Elon Musk of Tesla announced that the autopilot system has logged over 10 million miles with only one accident. This figure is really promising that is far better than a human’s performance. However, some other people may still have a concern about the job perspective in the future. If all drivers are cut off due to this new invention, the jobless rates will pose a problem to society. But it is not a new story in our history. Through many industrial revolutions, people witnessed several changes in job demand due to the involvement of machines. So we should consider the safety benefit of this development instead of worrying about these solvable issues. In conclusion, just like any other revolution in the past, this trend will bring people much more safe roads and positive change to our life conditions. People should embrace this advantage that modern technology had given us.