Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the 21st century continues to unfold, ecological conservation is a prominent issue. As a result, whether politicians or citizens should assume the responsibility for it is open to debate. From my viewpoint, both views are justified in certain contexts, but individuals should be held accountable for this environment preservation. On the one hand, politicians are in charge of ecological conservation. They are responsible as policymakers because the environment plays an important role in nature and economics. Furthermore, policies are powerful, widespread and directly impactful to all citizens. Besides, they are also responsible for enhancing taxpayers’ wellbeing. Their main source of funds originate from taxes, so they must be held accountable for protecting the environment. On the other hand, individuals have a great impact on conserving the environment. If we don’t follow the policies, these policies will no longer work. To justify this, nowadays, there are various environmental policies in Vietnam but some people still don’t follow the rules, which serves pollution on a national scale. Apart from that, everyone is to blame for the pollution, therefore, they need to fix their wrongdoings. For instance, the number of people still throwing trash anywhere but the trash bin in Vietnam, which is a Vietnamese’s bad habit, is alarming. Plus, the vast majority of citizens use plastic instead of organic items, and don’t classify the trash into different categories. In light of the above-mentioned arguments, protecting the environment is everyone’s duty, but individuals should be more responsible for their duties than politicians.