Today, there are more television channels than ever before. Some people think this leads to more choices for television viewers. Others, however, believe this causes the quality of television programmes to decline. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The dialectical questions raised by the quantity and quality of television programs are subject to much debate. I personally think the tendency of having more television is a positive phenomenon, although it does cause the declining quality. Gone are the days when people only have a few television programs to choose from, as a result of increased competition. Television channels all try to provide a wider selection of programs to attract more viewers and this means that viewers could have a wider variety of television channels to choose from. Diverse programs are beneficial for people to broaden their visions and learn different knowledge. For example, my mother usually tells me that she nearly had no choice of television channels when she was a little girl. But now abundant categories of programs enable her easy to choose the educational programs that she is really interested in. Admittedly, the explosion of TV channels may cause some programs quality to decline to some extent. Many producers copy ideas from popular programs, resulting in homogenization competitions between channels. In order to grab more eyeballs, some TV programs even use violent images to attract viewers, which would have a negative impact on teenagers’ behaviours. Teenagers always copy what they see in the media and are easily influenced by violence in television programs. In conclusion, as far as the wide variety of information is concerned, I firmly believe that it is a positive phenomenon, although it could provoke the declining quality of television programs. However, I believe that low- quality programs will be eliminated with market competition.