Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities.

Nowadays local businesses seem to be overpowered by the economic potential of large corporations that operate shopping malls and large chain stores. There are many people who believe it is a hint of the collapse in the local economy. From my point of view, I strongly agree that small businesses play a vital role in the native communities and that their disappearance will have a negative impact. It can’t be denied that chains of local stores are the main outlet for native products and if these disappear factories will come to a standstill and jobs will be affected. There will be shortages of agricultural products such as rice, vegetables and meat. Farmers will be hit the most, especially during the Covid 19 pandemic when the chain of transport has been interrupted. Additionally, products in supermarkets are far too expensive for most customers in developing countries who have been struggling to survive for a long time. Add to this that, supermarkets are not accessible for those who live in the countryside as they are not all familiar with modern technologies and making card payments. The whole aspect of this makes them confused, so they are happier shopping at a small store rather than a supermarket. In conclusion, I believe that despite there being huge advantages to visiting a shopping mall, local stores still play a vital role in the lives of most people. They offer a sense of community and unique items, but I also think that competition will help them both develop.