In the past, buildings often reflected the culture of a society but today all modern buildings look alike and cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What do you think is the reason for this, and is it a good thing or a bad thing?

Nowadays, there are a lot of contemporary buildings with the same architect's style in different cities around the world, whereas in the past the metropolis was more authentic and align with local culture. This essay will explain the reason why this is happening and how damaging to the cities is. The main reason is globalization because there is more information about other buildings in the world. It is quite common to see some famous architects being invited to design buildings in different countries. For example, Bjork Ingels Group (BIG) who is from Denmark, was invited to create a building in Vancouver, so many people want to visit Vancouver to see this amazing building. Therefore, this type of building becomes more emblematic and brings international technologies to a local city. However, this exchange of style has more disadvantages to consider in long term. When the government decides to hire an international designer, there are many local designers that will never have the same opportunity to express their talent, and the city will lose their identity. Moreover, considering the environment is crucial to creating a project that fits the site. For example, there are some metropolia with seasonal floods and if the international architect does not know how to deal them with, will be extremely detrimental to the city and society. Therefore, this situation has more issues than benefits. To conclude, metropolises used to look very different, but nowadays they are becoming more similar. This is happening because globalization has brought more information about other designers and other styles. In long term, the cities will lose their identity and the international designers could not consider the local environment.