In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way Why is this? do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Today business owners focus on marketing their products as new or special in some way. That is because they want to convince the consumer that their products are one of a kind. Personally, I believe that this method of advertising is a negative point because they are deceiving the customers. To commence with, businesses are selling a brand, not a product. In more details, they want to persuade the audience that their products can provide something special that no other brand can offer. This will lead to them creating some kind of monopoly over the market so that they can increase their prices when they actually manage to collect a large number of customers. If they marketed their products at high prices and without focusing on the idea that they have no alternatives, they would not achieve high sales. In my opinion, it is unethical of business owners to use their customers. This will result in people buying products because they think they need them but in fact, there may be cheaper alternatives everywhere. As a result, the consumers may not believe if someone tells them that there are other brands that are less famous but can provide the same value or even more in relation to their prices. In conclusion, not only companies are using their customers to gain more money but also they are doing that in a manipulative way by convincing them first that their products are irreplaceable and then increasing their prices which can create financial burdens on many people. Moreover, I believe that this method of advertising is unprofessional and that it should be modified.