Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is increasing for families to place their elderly parents in nursing homes rather than take care of them at home. In this essay, we shall substantiate the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. Firstly, we shall look into the advantages. For starters, they will be surrounded by people who are of the same age as them, and therefore who face the same challenges as them. They will feel more comfortable, and they can get access to nursing care at any time. For their families, it will also be beneficial, because, in their busy days, it is hard to take care of their parents, their children and do their daily responsibilities. So, this way they are at ease as they know that their parents are getting the best care, in a place comfortable to them. On the other hand, the grandparents are unable to spend less time with their children and grandchildren, which will result in a strain in their relationship, which will result in the grandchildren not having any connection to their grandparents. This will also, adversely affect the health of grandparents. Furthermore, this sense of isolation and loneliness can make the elderly feel redundant and in some instances depression, and other related problems. To conclude, putting grandparents in nursing homes has its advantages and disadvantages. Whilst the advantages are more beneficial than the disadvantages, it is important to know that the drawback caused by lack of time spent between grandparents and grandchildren can also affect their physical and mental health.