Nowadays, some workplaces tend to employ equal numbers of men and women. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that the improvements in gender equality have encouraged many organisations to recruit a similar number of male and female workers. However, I believe that it is better for a company to adjust its workforce composition according to its business plans. Admittedly, adopting the policy of employing equal number of men and women indicates that many workplaces place high value on sexual equality. This means that both males and females are granted identical opportunities to pursue their desired positions and careers. Also, there are fewer restrictions to women becoming managers and men taking on roles of performing tasks requiring high patience and precision. With every employee being motivated by such a balanced working setting, a company can expect to promote the rate at which it grows and accumulates profits. However, there are risks associated with having the same number of male and female workers at a workplace. Firstly, being provided equal opportunities means that males and females would have to compete more intensively with their counterparts to obtain their chosen positions. There are many cases where a female employee finds it difficult to cope with the pressure from her stressful work, ending up being depressed or even quitting her job. In addition, insisting on achieving equilibrium by hiring equal portion of men and women would affect the flexibility of a company when it comes to conducting trade. It would be disastrous for a company to run businesses demanding high labour power if this company did not possess enough male employees. In conclusion, it seems to me that it would not be feasible for an organisation to operate all types of businesses by taking on equal number of men and women. Therefore, I would propose that utilising an adaptive workforce is best for the development of any company.