Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In modern days, many people prefer being freelancers to being an employee of a company or organisation. People can gain flexible working hours and being a decision-maker from working as self-employed, however there are some major drawbacks to be taken into account. On the one hand, there are a number of advantages to choosing to be a freelancer. Firstly, one crucial benefit of being a business owner is having flexible working hours. In other words, the main target is to complete the job within the timeline and it does not matter that working during office hours or at night. For example, there is no need to ask for permission from the superior when a personal issue is needed to attend urgently since working hours can be substituted. Secondly, being a freelancer is an advantage because they can make their own decisions and take the challenges to motivate themselves. As a result, it encourages them to work harder to compete with the other competitors as well as drive them to improve their creations and services. For instance, a freelancer who made his or her own decision to move forward the deadline in order to increase the chance of profitable margin, has to put in more effort than others. On the other hand, the major disadvantages of choosing to be a business owner are having the risk of stable finances especially at the start-up and unfamiliar fields such as marketing administration. It is not as easy as it seems to become a successful businessman in this competitive world, even though they might be able to persuade many clients in the long run, starting up is obviously the most difficult to earn enough for living. They may face considerably low income in some situations when they are unhealthy or they are not good at marketing. In addition, another negative aspect of choosing to be self-employed is all expenses are from their own pockets since there is no privilege and insurance reimbursement from the organisation. They are responsible for their own medical expenses, maternity leaves and accidents. In conclusion, while being a freelancer can be beneficial, it can also have the risk of having a stable income and paying all the emergency expenses from their own pockets.