In some cities of the world, cars are replacing bicycles. However, in some other cities, bicycles are replacing cars. What are the reasons for these two developments? In your opinion, which one is better?

Ever since technological innovations took place, there have been numerous options available for commuting from one place to another place from which cars and bicycles are the most prominent ones. It has been observed that individuals of a few nations prefer to travel by car, whereas, in some other countries, the number of bicycle users is even surpassing car users. The rationale underneath the origin of these two contrary trends appears to be the ease of owning a car, in contrast with, the concern for environmental protection, which altogether goes against each other. Initiating with the regions where four wheelers are in more demand, it can be noticed that such countries have made the purchase of these vehicles relatively effortless than in the past. Especially, the provision of Equated Monthly Instalments allures the common public to buy a more convenient mode of transportation which is by no means a bicycle but a car. Thus, people tend to possess a car, not a bicycle. It was also published in the article of ‘The Time’ as well that the major reason for witnessing a hike in car ownership is due to the availability of paying in instalments which enables even the middle class to afford it. However, such offers do not experience success in other areas where people are concerned about the mammoth depletion of the environment. As, combustion of fuel contributes to emitting toxic gases such as carbon dioxide, so to avoid that, the residents of some places understand how important it is to use an eco-friendly mode of transportation, and since riding bicycle does not involve burning of any fuel, is the best option currently available to reduce environmental pollution. An epitomization of this could be ‘India' where the trend of using bicycle has reached at the peak, according to a recent survey. Now, which could be the better development? In my perspective, it is certainly the latter fashion of giving an edge to bicycles over cars. Unlike the past, the current scenario makes a peremptory request to be focused on ameliorating the prevailing situation of contaminated surroundings rather than being materialistic. If the cars are not replaced by an eco-friendly mode of transportation, in near future neither humans nor animals or birds will be able to survive. This scenario could be corroborated by taking into account the case of Australia where irreparable damage has been done to the life-saving ozone layer owing to the over-usage of private vehicles specifically cars. To recapitulate, it can be asserted that although the ease of purchasing cars has escalated the number of car owners in some countries, people who know, it is their responsibility to think about the prospect of environmental pollution, are still prioritising bicycles over cars. Hence, I, too, would reiterate that for the survival of living creatures, it would be better to allow more earth-friendly vehicles on roads.