Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertisements have blended into multiple aspects of our lives over the last few decades. From TV advertisments to Billboards to Phamplets in mailboxes, the range and reach of advertisements is impressive. But, Do Advertisments rally us into buying unnecessary products? Or, Do they provide us with options and new trends to improve our life? Advertisements provide a window into the trends and new technologies that are constantly evolving to suit and aid in everyday activities. They also portray a path to better the existing lifestyle, object or just a way of doing simpler things. This enables the consumer to understand what is available and enhance the quality of life. For example, an robotic vaccuming machine against a basic vaccum cleaner is huge change that could positively impact your lifestyle. Despite the best intentions of Advertising, the implications of a well placed adveristment driving consumer to buy unnecessary products cannot be ruled out. In brief, some of the Advertisements cause the people to replace a product with a new one before the end of its lifespan or the full extent of its usage. The offers and season ending sales compound this situation; creating more waste and more new products. For Instance, an advertisement on a kitchen knief would direct the audience to think twice about of sharpening an existing knifes against buying a brand new knife. The peer pressure of keeping up with the latest models on Technological products like Mobile Phone, Television etc is also a crucial piece to this puzzle. Advertisments that show a neighour with an old car versus a new car encourages such inherent human behavior. Nevertheless, Advertisments are a part of the culture and daily lives and the people would have to determine how it impacts them. It leads me to believe that more percentage of people are cajoled into purchasing products that they will be able to live without because of Advertisements.