Transport delays and long journey times are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

Undoubtedly, transportation has become integral part of urban cities. However, traffic jams and prolonged travel time is becoming common these days. Increased number of vehicles and poor infrastructure could be the main root causes to this problem. In this essay, both these issues will be discussed in detail. Firstly, more and more new vehicles are being added to town's traffic due to increase in sales of four-wheeler and two wheeler companies, which has indeed increased the traffic jams. Now can restriction be imposed to travel on public? No, this can be done, but at least we can create time zones in congested areas of cities for movement of heavy-commercial vehicles. For an instance, in Delhi, traffic jams are quite common due to which administration has stopped the movement of load-carry vehicles to pass through city after 7 a.m. and before 11 p.m. This has eased the pressure on traffic within the city. Hence, by stopping the large vehicles for certain time period tends to curb the issue of long travel time within the cities which has become common due to increasing number of vehicles on road day by day. Secondly, poor road infrastructure has led to delay during travel. Narrow and broken roads handling traffic movement more than its capacity are common these days. Moreover, if parking facilities are limited, people are bound to park their vehicles on sides of road which is causing major issue of traffic in cities. Road to airport in Jaipur city perfectly exemplifies this scenario where this old bitumen road had developed cracks and it was not wide enough to absorb the traffic. Due to increasing people's complaints last year new cemented road and exclusive parking building were built and new road is wide enough to solve the problem of unnecessary delays. Therefore, infrastructure is the key factor which decides whether one faces travel issues or not. To conclude, ever-increasing vehicles on road and poor infrastructure has created devastating effect on traffic issues. Therefore, solution lies in amendment of traffic rules and construction of healthy infrastructure.