Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages a higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over the impact of gun possession by the police on the community. Personally, I would contend that doing so might do more harm than good. It is understandable to claim that police officers should be equipped with guns in those areas where armed criminals are rampant. By having a gun, the police can protect ordinary citizens as well as themselves from potential attacks. It gives the police the leverage in their combat against criminals, especially those hardened perpetrators. For example, Norway police forces previously were not armed with guns while doing patrols. However, after a destructive attack of the IS terrorist, this has not been the case anymore. As a result, firearms are obviously necessary since they serve as a deterrent to would-be offenders. On the contrary, polices' carrying guns is unreasonable since it could increase the potential of a miscarriage of justice and mistaken shootings of innocent civilians. Even though the legislations are put forward to protect citizens from torture or cruel treatment, if the police are armed, they also protect their rights on using guns. For instance, the police will be less likely to give a second thought before pulling the trigger when they see someone as a dangerous threat. They can easily get away with private execution by inventing a legitimate excuse, such as self-defense. Consequently, the chance of shoot-out would naturally rise, causing many preventable injuries or losses of life. In conclusion, while owning firearms is of importance, it still contributes to higher violence percentage. Therefore, it is unsuitable to apply a gun possession policy.