All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for the children’s future. Discuss both views and give your opinion. ?

There is no doubt that parents want their children to have better opportunities than they did. It is for this reason, that many parents argue that schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for the children’s future. In this essay, we shall discuss both sides of this coin and substantiate my reasoning. For starters, the main purpose of schools is to help build up a student, both educationally and as a human being. It is a playground, in which a student learns their capacity and develop their interest, which is important because then they can make the decisions of which path to pursue. For example, when I was in school, we were introduced to a whole selection of subjects, so by the 9th grade, we were capable to make choices of which subjects we wanted to continue, for instance, we could choose between Chemistry and Economics, Biology and Accounts etc. On the other hand, although it may be cheaper, if you teach the kids just soft skills, you are effectively programming them for a certain line of work. This will help them to attain a job but will hinder their abilities to make conclusions for themselves, which should be the goal. In conclusion, I believe having a range of subjects is better for children because it helps develop them wholly as people. They can make and will be responsible for their resolutions, which is very important at a young age. Because this will help prepare them for the world, as it is filled with endless possibilities.