The arts, including art, music and theatre are considered to be important in society. Ÿ Do you think the arts still have a place amongst our modern lifestyles? Ÿ Should the arts be included in school programs?

Throughout history, the arts are appreciated as a crucial part of society. Despite we are now living in the age of technology, I do believe that these traditional forms of entertainment still have their own places and that schools should consider providing some subjects regarding these treasures. Music, theatre, drawing are developed in a parallel way with every nations' history and culture. Therefore, they not only serve as some relaxing materials but also the reflections of societal stories. Besides, they are the consolidation of contemporary intelligence. For example, Mozart, W.Thackeray or Picasso are not just popular at their times, but still have major influences on our life nowadays. As the modern world is now filled with digital music, sophisticated movies or artificial paintings, people still respect the painting of the Mona Lisa, the Beethoven orchestra tickets are sold out within some hours, and the broadway theatres are still lightened every weekend night. Although I have to agree that these forms of art are no longer the leading trends like the way that they did in the past, but to their fans, they are parts of their lives. As these traditional arts are the treasure of humankind, some people opine schools should begin to teach their students about these subjects. Adding these arts into the curriculums could be an interesting way to deliver some lessons about history and cultures. As arts reflect our lives, through these pieces, children could understand more about the older age instead of the jejune social science classes. To sum up, amidst multiple modern means of entertainment, I do think that the old arts still stand in important places that could not be replaced easily by any other novel activities, and that school should teach children with these masterpieces to encourage them to explore more about how life has been changed.