Many people say that they believe it is important to protect the environment but make no effort to do anything about it themselves. Why do you think this is the case? What action do you think individuals should take to protect the environment?

It is true that an increasing number of people are aware that environmental protection is essential for all people ’s well-being. Whereas, it is a pity that only a few people take measures to protect. In this essay, I will discuss several reasons behind such a phenomenon, as well as the actions that people can actually take to stop polluting the planet we are living on. The reason why people do not make any efforts to protect the environment, I think mainly because they are not willing to abandon the convenience and efficiency brought by high-end products, in spite of all of the detrimental effects will bring to the environment. For instance, the figures for the usage of private cars in those first -tier cities had been increasing obviously in the past 5 years. Additionally, it is worse than having more money in hand, households possess more private vehicles more than one. Therefore, the excessive use of private cars will lead to a rise in carbon dioxide and harmful fumes emission in the atmosphere. However, undoubtedly, the surrounding we are living in is getting worse off, so efforts must be taken as much as possible. There are tons of measures to take aiming to carry out environmental protection. For example, in order to reduce air pollution, we can go to the supermarkets for shopping once a month. In this way, people drive less, resulting in fewer emissions of carbon footprints. Similarly, as students, we can use digital books instead of paper ones. Therefore, people would cut fewer trees. Thus the green plants in cities will have better photosynthesis to release more oxygen. Lastly, people can use online second -hand platforms to exchange items with other people. Hence, we can limit the consumption rate, especially some digital devices. The less we purchase, the less waste we create. Therefore, on a personal level, we can actually make more efforts rather than simply believe to protect our planet and conserve energy. In conclusion, even though green lifestyles may bring us some inconvenience, concerning the long-term benefit, as ordinary people, we are necessary to try our best to change the world. So, we will not simply say that we agree with the significance of protecting the environment, let us do it with a determined heart and make efforts to change the situation to its best!