Many parents, mostly mothers, stay at home to take care of the house and look after children. Many believe that the government should pay them a wage for this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is been controversial among the community whether the authority should provide financial support to stay-home parents as a form of salary. Most mothers cannot function as professionals and housewives at the same time so they either choose to stay at home and take care of their family thus giving up their professions. I agree that the government should pay them wages for this. On one hand, the high economic demand makes most families struggle to pay bills. Most of the household involves only one working parent. If this trend continues, it will result in poverty and their children would be forced to work instead of going to school. Consequently, there will be a high demand for professionals such as doctors and lawyers in the future in which society may not able to provide. To avoid future dilemmas, it is necessary to provide wages to the stay-home partner. On the other hand, being a housewife is not a profession hence a responsibility instead. Secondly, it is a choice, a mother or a father decides to stay at home to make sure the welfare of their family. They may have different tactics to handle parenthood in which some cultures may not be acceptable but can result in a good outcome. Giving them a salary on how they manage the household will be complicated and can result in chaos. For instance, their neighbour will become their competition instead of a support. In conclusion, there are indeed advantages and disadvantages to giving wages to housewives however the community will benefit in the long run as well as may lift a burden within the household.