Many believe that individuals can do little to improve the environment. Only governments and large companies can make a real difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, environmental problems are always debatable and finding solutions by changing human behaviours or embedding new technology to solve them. Many people believe that individuals can do minimal to improve the environment; however, governments and companies can only execute a real difference. From my point of view, I cannot entirely agree with this viewpoint. This essay will describe many supporting reasons in the following paragraphs. Looking from an overall perspective, it is readily apparent that the most improvements are always started from people or the small unit in the state before extending to their community and country. In other words, some consumers’ behaviours changing are mainly executed from individual to their family, for example, reducing household waste, paper and plastic usage, private-car usage. Moreover, the eco-warrior programme is promoted in many schools to teach our kids how to reduce waste and bring it to recycle to renew valuable things. Therefore, starting from individual mindset could be made the crucial impacts to the majority aspect. On the other hand, governments and corporate companies can improve the macro viewpoints; for instance, the government agency is directly responsible for setting up the policy or regulation regarding environmental protection and applying it to the country or even the specific areas. In comparison, the corporate companies keep exploring new eco-products or rebuilding a greenery plant to mitigate air pollution to the community, for example. Consequently, they execute the environmental improvements in the big picture. They might deploy to individuals; however, it depends on whether users’ behaviours will change or not. In summary, individual execution has little impact on improving the environment, but governments or corporate units can make a significant difference. All things can be begun from the single unit and generate a beneficial impact on the community if they do it all from a new mindset that they realise what we should do for our environment in the future.