The development of tourism contributed to english becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some think that this will lead to english becoming only spoken language globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world.

English is currently the most common language that is spoken worldwide. Some people believe that over time, it will be the only language used to communicate across the globe. The major advantage is the ease to learn while the disadvantage is people will not want to loose their culture. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative aspect of this topic. To start with, English has been the universal means in which people exchange information in most schools around the world except for a few countries. However, it is easy to learn and also taught from kindagaten. Therefore making communication a lot easier for individuals. For instance, in Africa, virtually all institutions use English to teach and hence it is understood by most people. Furthermore, there won't be any need for an interpreter when travelling to countries where other dialects are used as a means of relating with people. For example, a person who travels to Germany might have problems with navigating his way around the airport because the directions are written in German language. Therefore, passengers who do not speak the language are likely going to get confused. The use of one language all over the world will help to solve quite a number of issues from misinterpretations. On the other hand, if we adopt a unique way exchanging information, other regions will loose their cultural heritage with regards to the predominant language in the area. Secondly, some people might find it very difficult to adopt English as a general means of communication. The main reason for this will be that they might find it difficult to learn. For example in Saudi Arabia where Arabic is the main dialet, learning another language is not easy for them because of the nature of how they speak Arabic. In conclusion, it is necessary to use a single means of communication worldwide but it might be hard for some regions to opt for a unique language. Therefore, this process might not be feasible at all. Despite the arguements, the benefits of using a universal language is still greater than the drawbacks.