Some people say that to overcome traffic problem, underground tunnels should be built. What is your opinion?

Congestion has become a major concern primarily in the urban areas, thanks to the growing number of vehicles on the road. Some advocate that the construction of underground roadways would alleviate such problems. However, I personally believe that the measure will not help ease the situation in the long term, and this essay will elaborate on my take. Firstly, although it is undeniable that once constructed, the underground roadways would immediately diverge some drivers away from the congested areas, the effect would not last long. For instance, as the traffic became less evident, driving will become more enjoyable, and it will create the urge for some to buy more cars. As more motorized carriages fill the city, the traffic will be back and the cycle will repeat. In addition, the construction would cost a hefty sum, at the expense of the taxpayer. Secondly, congestion occurs because the capacity of the road is not adequate to facilitate the traffic, and as the population grow, we can not expect to increase the capacity indefinitely. Therefore, it is more important to reduce the number of vehicles running around the city. In other words, the government should focus on enhancing and improving the public transportation systems, such as buses or rail-based transport, which would be more beneficial in the long run. Besides the benefit of less congested roads, people will be healthier as they will have to walk more while commuting. Moreover, the air quality will improve because of fewer polluters. To conclude, constructing an underground tunnel will only be a short-term solution for the problem of congestion, and the government should focus on improving the public transportation system instead.