Some observers say that the pocile officers should be recruited from the communities where they work, so that they have local knowledge. Other people say that this is unnecessary, or even undesirable. Where do you stand on this debate? Is local knowledge essential in modern policing?

Undoubtedly, recruitment of officers especially in the administrative jobs like that of police department is very crucial. Some people have their view point that selection in this field has to be according to community where they belong. While, others have notion that selection has to be unbiased and irrespective to people ’s localities. Both these viewpoints will be discussed in details before arriving at conclusion. On one hand, deputing a police officer in their own vicinity may be fruitful as they are aware of the problems which locals face like that of social, religious and political difficulties. Because of which, these officers tend to address issues of local people in better way as they becomes more trustworthy and reliable to like-minded people who they face. For an instance, last year, in Mumbai when Parsi people went to protest against the MLA, administration had sent a Parsi police officer so that protest could not turn to violent agitation and issues of this crowd are rightly addressed. Therefore, being from same community is sometimes better in some scenarios. On the other hand, if a police personnel is deputed in his own community, then, there are high chances that he will misuse his powers to benefit his own people rather than focusing on every citizen equally. Moreover, this increases the chances of system becoming prone to corruption. To cite an example, there was news that a policeman has framed the victims of the crime to safeguard his own relatives. Therefore, home-posting is not to be motivated, and at least, these jobs have to be transferable. To conclude, there is no denying the fact that making selection of officers based on which caste or sect he belongs is better in few cases, but it has more negative effects than positive ones. Therefore, the idea of having transferable job overweighs the thought that jobs have to be in one’s own community.