Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Climate change represents a major threat to life on Earth, but some people argue that we need to accept it rather than try to stop it. I entirely disagree with this opinion, because I believe that we still have the time to tackle this issue and reduce the human impact on the situation. There are a number of measures that governments and individuals could prevent, or at least mitigate climate change. Governments can introduce laws to reduce the emissions of carbon dioxide which lead to climate alteration. They could impose “green taxes” on drivers, airline companies and other polluters, or invest in renewable energy, such as solar, wind and water energy. Similarly, as individuals, we can also limit the contribution to the temperature change, by becoming more energy-efficient, less flying, using bicycles and public transportation. Furthermore, the public can take action by voting for politicians who propose to tackle global warming, rather than for those who prefer to ignore it. If instead of taking the above measures, we simply try to live with climate change, I believe that the consequences will be disastrous. For instance, I am not optimistic that we are able to cope with even a small rise in sea levels. Millions of people would be displaced by flooding, particularly in countries that do not have the means to safeguard low-lying areas. These people would lose their homes and jobs, or even worse, they may be forced to migrate to other countries. The potential for human suffering would be huge, and we may see outbreaks of diseases and famine, as well as increased homelessness and poverty. In conclusion, it is obvious that we must make efforts to tackle climate change, and I disagree with those who argue that we can accept the phenomenon and live with it.