Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The utilization of the open areas for planting or building more houses has become a debatable issue. In my opinion, I agree that trees and gardens play a vital role in human development. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall explain my point of view and give supporting reasons. To begin with, the cultivation of more trees in urban settings benefits city dwellers in a variety of ways. For example, extra tree shade is generated when more trees are planted in open areas, which not only promotes the aesthetics of the city but also helps to lower the city's temperature. Also, it provides more space to elders and youngsters to do some physical activities in this relaxing environment. Additionally, these plants assist in reducing urban air pollution and noise levels and promote higher living standards. Experts have discovered that tree leaves are great absorbers, especially of carbon dioxide and dust. In addition, trees generate oxygen, which can help to reduce pollution in cities and improve air quality. However, it is true that more housing means more places to live. But it cannot be ignored that people are suffering from urbanisation induced air pollution and the only solution to protect them is to plant more trees. To sum up, due to mass urbanization, the need for trees and gardens has drastically increased to improve the quality of life in overcrowded cities. Moreover, trees and gardens are natural combats that can help protect against various man-made disasters.