Some people say the government should give healthcare the first priority, some others believe there are more important priorities to spend the taxpayers' money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a dispute over which priorities to invest the tax revenues, whether on healthcare or not. In my opinion, while there are some alternative investments, healthcare should always be prioritised in the government budget. There are various reasons for the prioritisation of healthcare in any country. Firstly, adequate and gratis healthcare can be available for everyone thanks to a sufficient budget, especially with maternal health and chronic diseases across all facility levels. Secondly, it increases equal access to medical care, which means individuals can access the same quality of care and treatment. For instance, Britain and Sweden are well-known for their universal healthcare allocated entirely through taxation. Finally, the investment to advance health science and technology would not only benefit the nation's netizen but also profit its economy. For example, companies like AstraZeneca and Pfizer have made enormous lucre with the COVID-19 vaccination. On the other hand, many argue that the taxation should be allocated to other alternatives, such as social welfare programs. If the tuition fees are fully covered, the augmentation of higher education enrollment will advance the national economy and enhance its citizens' quality of life. For instance, Scandinavian countries and Germany, which have tuition-free higher education, rank top largest economies and happiest countries globally. Moreover, developed economies such as the United Kingdom have unemployment benefit programs, which will support unemployed workers to meet basic consumption needs and stabilise the economy during recessions. In conclusion, albeit the alternative social welfare programs benefit the countries in many aspects, I believe that prioritising public health would be a foundation of development and have a long-term impact.