Some people think that governments should spend more money on sports facilities for top athletes, others argue that this money should be spent on sports facilities for ordinary people. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

As there is growing interest in sports, it is undeniable that the government should allocate a certain amount from the budget to enhance the sports facilities. Some individuals believe that the government should provide significant funding for elite athletes. However, others believe that money should be used to benefit the general public. I believe that the government should spend money to improve their sporting facilities because many athletes rely heavily on government financing and infrastructure. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall discuss both sides and provide reasons for my point of view. Athletes are every country's pride, and they represent their countries on a variety of platforms. To be able to play their sports efficiently on international stages, athletes must engage in rigorous training and need specialized equipment. Moreover, the funding of sports athletes is heavily reliant on government agencies. There is no alternative way to obtain highly developed facilities. The general population, on the other hand, only needs facilities to maintain their health and physical fitness. Contrary to the above arguments, some people believe that citizens pay a significant amount of taxes and are expected to use governmental services to improve their lives. Apart from that, sports play an essential role in people's health. If the government offers good sports clubs in all cities, people's living standards will improve. Furthermore, by constructing sports facilities in numerous places, the government would be able to assist the underprivileged in improving their health. To sum up, it is true that the general public also deserves to utilize public facilities. However, athletes require more funding because they represent the nation at the global level.