At the present time, the population of some countries of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Older people form a lower percentage of population in some regions of the world. In recent times, it is noticeable in some nations that adolescents form majority of the populace compared to the elderly. This essay will discuss how the positive impact of the situation outweighs the disadvantages. To start with, there is a glaring increase in the number of young adults in some countries. However, this rise can have its benefits as well as negative effect. The major advantage is that, these age group forms a greater proportion of the work force and will also be very efficient compared to old people. For instance, in the agricultural sector, they will provide highly proficient services in terms of supervising and organization of farms. In addition, the generation of revenue will also reach its peak due to their involvement in activities and this can be used as a means to providing care for older people who are at risk of having chronic diseases. On the other hand, certain drawbacks can also arise from this situation. A lot of times, there can be high level of unemployment and they can also cause instability in a particular region. For example, in Nigeria where I come from, the politicians exploit these age group most of the time and use them as political thugs thereby making them to cause disarray during electorial process. The main reason for this is that, they do not have any means of generation funds to take care of themselves and hence, they are provided with little stipends by the high class. In conclusion, some communities have a large portion of teenagers and despite this, they can lead the cities into crises. Although, they constitute an important aspect of societies, they have to be adequately taken care of. Finally, it is necessary to pay very close attention to their needs especially in terms of education.