More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

The world is now a global village where people can relate with each other across several miles. Most spheres of life including both personal and occupational sectors have adopted modern technology as a way of passing information across to one another. This essay will outline the pros and cons of this issue. To start with, one of the major advantages of using telephones to reach out to others is that it speeds up the exchange of ideas thereby shortening the time interval of passing a message. This is very vital in medical practice because it can save help to save a life within the shortest time frame. For example in hospitals, pagers are used to pass a situation report on a patient who needs an emergency response. This will provide prompt care for individuals. Furthermore, it decreases the cost of trying to relate with family members and also loved ones through video calls by using applications on social networks such as Facebook or telegram. This can be used to view the faces of those we want to see instantly in different regions across the globe. Otherwise, huge sums of money will be spent to visit them at their various destinations. On the other hand, despite the positive effects, there are negative impacts of these advancements as well. Firstly, there is an increase in the number of cancers in all continents. However, it's been found that exposure to radiation generated from the gadgets used for network provision can cause malignant conditions affecting mostly the younger age groups. For instance, in Nigeria, there is a high record of tumours seen among those below the age of forty and this has been found to be attributed to the high emission of radioactive materials. Secondly, the prices of most types of equipment used in this regard are on the high trend and as such a lot of money is spent to purchase them. In summary, the new ways of communicating will help to boost and improve the quality of life as well as enhance relationships. Although the main disadvantage is that it poses a threat to the health of the majority of the younger aged, it is still necessary for our day to day running of businesses. Hence, this explains the reason for its importance in improving economic growth.