Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, headlines of the media are more often filled with negative or concerning news. Some people start wondering whether those things will have detrimental effects on the community as well as individuals. I personally think that the media should always be responsible to ensure balanced coverage in their reports. This essay will delve into my take. To begin with, constant exposure to negative news would bring uneasiness to the audience. In other words, people will start to develop the thought that their immediate society is problematic and full of bad behaviour. Although this will raise awareness to take preventive measures, excessive exposure to it will also create hesitation among the citizen to do outdoor activities, particularly in the secluded areas, thus hindering the process of making a solid community. Secondly, it is important for the media to have more coverage about the positive aspect happening in the country, because it will create a sense of collective success. For instance, undergraduate students watching a report covering the country's economic resilience, will develop confidence as well as hopes for a brighter future in their career. The condition will result in their heightened motivation to study. In addition, an encouraging report will create trust among the citizen, resulting in the whole society functioning better as more and more social activities are possible. To conclude, we need to receive grim news to raise our awareness of what is happening around us. However, more balanced coverage of both concerning issues as well as positive developments is crucial to ensure better functioning of society.