food can be produced much more cheaply today because of improved fertilizers and better machinery. however ,some of the method used to do this may be dangerous to human health and may have negative effects on local communities to what extent do you you agree or disagree?

The price of food today is relatively lower compared to the past decade due to the usage of better fertilisers and machinery, which eventually leads to economies of scale due to mass production. However, this phenomenon has detrimental effects on human health and local residents. To begin with, the rapid growth in the human population in the last few centuries has been increasing rapidly than ever before, hence raising the demand for staple crops, vegetables, and fruits amid the limited use of land for farming due to industrialisation and housing. To deal with this problem, the peasants use fertilisers to boost their plant yield to increase the harvested crop in their garden. For example, farmers using this method in East Java say that their crops have increased by 30% after using such fertilisers. However, the use of these chemical substances has been proven harmful to human health if not treated properly, such as cancer, food poisoning, and asthma. Furthermore, the usage of such chemical substances is a source of pollutants to the environment, and in the long run, it will harm soil fertility and sustainability. For example, the land area in Subang, West Java, became infertile and bare after high-intensity pesticides were used in rice farming for many years. Another example can be found in the Kapuas River, where the water became uninhabitable for fish species because of the waste stemming from the local farmers using fertilisers. In conclusion, the usage of fertilisers has increased the productivity of staple crops amid rapid population growth. However, it also has adverse impacts on the development of various illnesses and pollutes the environment in the long run.