Nowadays, experience is more valued in the workplace than knowledge in many countries. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary era, an individual who has practical skills is given more importance in the organisation as compared to a person having theoretical knowledge. This has both pros and cons. I personally believe that its benefits outweigh its drawbacks, as mentioned in the subsequent paragraphs. Giving importance to experience clearly has a lot of advantages. To embark upon, a person having experience will know the practicalities to deal with any kind of situation. There is a famous saying that there should be an old age person in every home, as he or she can tell his or her thoughts in every situation because of his experience, not his knowledge. In other words, an experienced person will know the trick to performing well in every circumstance, which can be beneficial to the organisation. Additionally, experienced people after working a certain amount of time will gain knowledge, which will be a win-win situation for both employer and employee. There is a vast amount of knowledge available on the internet. A particular task can easily be learned after reading a relevant article on the web. However, the experience cannot be gained through reading or watching videos over the internet. Experience will only come with a certain passage of time. In addition to that, promotion is given to a person only who have experience in that particular field. It is correct also as that person will have a better understanding of the organisation, work pressure and its related issues. On the contrary, it has a disadvantage as well. An experienced person will not have knowledge. Fields like finance require a huge amount of up-to-date knowledge. Filling or submitting wrong information can provide wrong statistics to the government, which can be dangerous to the organisation and society. To exemplify, an experienced person will know how to file a GST return, but it is the knowledgeable person who knows what to fill in a particular cell. In a nutshell, knowledge can be learned in a short span of time, whereas experience will require a certain passage of time. Moreover, tackling situations by experienced can be a major win for the organisation. But an experienced person must also possess limited knowledge otherwise experience will be of no use.