More people are spending their free time watching movies. Why is this? Is it a good or bad thing?

Nowadays, spending leisure time with some recreational activities is increasing all over the world. Many citizens have chosen movie watching as one of their pastime activities. There are several reasons for this behaviour, While I understand the positive shades of this culture, the negative impacts of this on society outweigh the benefits. To begin with, the important reasons for the increased adoption of movies are their availability in the market and attractive content to pull the crowd. To elaborate the primary one further, the availability of movies have become so handy such that there is no need to go to theatres to watch, unlike in earlier days. The famous OTT platforms, for instance, Netflix, Amazon prime are releasing blockbuster films on the launch date itself. Apart from that, the recent trend of web series content is so alluring that they are not allowing the audience to divert their minds out of the story. The breathtaking narration of some of the Netflix web series, for example, Suits, Dark are absolutely binding the spectator to the screen for a longer time. However, this trend has two negative impacts on society. The first and the foremost is, the increased screentime is detrimental to the health of many youngsters and adults. The prevailing diseases such as obesity and dizziness are the best examples to talk about the serious impacts of this culture. Secondly, the social interaction between people is showing a downward trend due to the aforementioned habit. It is largely observed that children minds are so involved in watching interesting cartoon films like they forget to greet elders when they visit home. To conclude, these days the favourite pastime activity for many is watching films. Reasons for this culture are several in nature such as movie content availability and its presentation. While I agree with some positive benefits of this behaviour, which are negligible as per my opinion, the drawbacks are humongous in nature corresponding to health and killing the social interaction between people.