People can live and work anywhere they want to choose, because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

With the innovation of modern technology nowadays, workers can live and work remotely without considering the company’s location. In my opinion, I strongly believe that the benefits of this development outweigh the drawbacks for some following reasons. On the one hand, employees tend to have higher performance when they can live and work wherever they want. As this offers them autonomy, they have the chance to manage tasks and do them at the time they want. In addition, giving a lot of time, exercising as well as other activities which enhance people’s mental and physical health are more likely to be done. Therefore, employees can increase their productivity. Moreover, this development also has some positive effects on the environment. Since workers are allowed to work from home, there is a big possibility that the number of commuters will decrease. This can lead to a less polluted environment. An example we can see is that the quality environment in Italy when we worked from home in the covid time. Reports announced that the rivers had become cleaner and dolphins appeared again. On the other hand, the employee’s personal life may get affected. Since communicating is too convenient, employers might call and drop urgent mail without considering the employee's personal time.Another drawback is that people will rely too much on technology gadgets. In conclusion, although there are pros and cons in this development, I believe the drawbacks are negligible when we consider the benefits above.