People can live and work anywhere they want to choose, because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

It is often argued that with the advanced communication technology and transport, in recent years, people are able to settle down and work whenever they want. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I believe that these drawbacks are eclipsed by their advantages. On the one hand, there is a plethora number of disadvantages linked to this trend. Perhaps the biggest drawback is the issue of environmental pollution. It is clear that a huge amount of carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere by private cars and other types of transport are the main culprit for the depletion of the air. As a result, urban citizens are more susceptible to diseases such as asthma, lung cancer. Another disadvantage is the problems of private information revealed, this is because people are totally dependent on technology to socialise with friends and cooperate with their colleagues meaning that their important information is easily exposed in the social networking which might put them in jeopardy if their private information is revealed. Despite the undeniable drawbacks I mentioned above, I believe that this trend owns some positive advantages. The biggest advantage is that people have a better standard of living. For example, by commuting by car and motorbikes, they do not have to spend too much time driving meaning that they will have more free time to enjoy their life or catch up with unfinished works leading to better mental well-being. Another advantage is that people can broaden their horizons by connecting with foreign friends via social networking such as Facebook or zalo. For example: with the advent of internet they have omnipresent access to a huge source of knowledge all around the world without setting foot in other countries. In conclusion, I believe that while advanced technology and transport do bring some negatives, these are overweighted by the benefits.