There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Job-seeking is becoming more challenging in modern times as competition heightens all around the world. Some parents believe firmly that academic achievements are pivotal, hence students should not be bothered with non-academic subjects. I am personally against this view and this essay will cover the reasoning of my take. Firstly, there are a myriad variety of new jobs that emerge every day. In other words, professions such as YouTubers, e-sport athletes, chefs, as well as content writers among others are never imagined in the past. Those fields of works require a different set of skills from those of conventional ones, which mostly can not be acquired solely by excelling at academic study. In addition, some pupils tend to find their hobbies in extra classes, thus helping them to cope with the stress accumulating from typically harder classes of math or physics. Secondly, non-academic subjects such as sports, arts, and cookery allow children to learn life skills. For instance, in order to be fully-functioning adults, people need to be healthy by the means of doing sports and having good food. Taking sport-classes, for example, help them to understand the proper method, as well as encourage them to exercise more. Furthermore, children with the knowledge of arts will be able to contribute to society as they grow up, either by taking part in the advancement of modern art or by preserving traditional cultures. To conclude, academic knowledge is undoubtedly important to support the success of the young. Nevertheless, it is also important to teach pupils other subjects, as it helps them acquire life skills while also creating a wider range of career opportunities in the future.