Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your opinion

A matter of considerable controversy in education is the issue of whether only the students having outstanding academic performances should be rewarded, or those reflecting better improvement. While I accept that pupils who have achieved the highest score deserve rewards, I am more convinced that praising learners whose scholastic achievements were improved significantly is more persuasive. On the one hand, there are some compelling reasons why people might argue that excellent academic performers ought to receive rewards. First and foremost, this could create a fair and competitive studying environment at school, observing that high-flyers want to win prizes. As a result, school children are likely to be encouraged to put their effort into learning and reaching the best scores. What’s more, by applying this approach, talented children who had outstanding performance can be discovered, hence the teacher tend to cultivate their natural abilities. My high school, for instance, chooses students with the best results for extra classes to develop their capabilities In science and take them to the national competitions. On the other hand, I strongly believe that offering encouragement for those making great strides in the level of studying performance is superior. The first advantage is that it is an equal opportunity for each of the students to be given rewards, rather than focusing on the top-tier learners. Therefore, instead of being disappointed once competing with their excellent peers, these students will feel motivated if their impressive progress in learning was recognized by obtaining rewards. In addition, that recognition from schools can break down the negative phenomenon and foster pupils’ inquisitiveness. In other words, students can access the wealth of knowledge without being under the incredible pressure of credit-driven practice occurs at which students must have obtained the highest position but suffering from anxiety and stress. In conclusion, taking everything into consideration, providing rewards for those who have improved their academic results wins my total supports because this method can boost students ’ motivation and release them from negative situations.