Some people say the government should spend money on providing faster public transport while others believe the government should give priority to other factors such as cost and the effect on environment. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is appreciated that the authorities should allocate their budget to high-speed public vehicles; meanwhile, others believe that spending expenditure on other sectors such as cost and environment is more feasible. Both these schools of thought hold valid arguments. From my perspective, I am truly in agreement with the second viewpoint. This essay will take both sides into consideration and give my verdict. On one hand, it is tangible that there should be disbursement on faster modes of mass transportations as it is indispensable. Initially, quicker public vehicles will be time-efficient for commuting and mitigate traffic congestion in big cities. Therefore, individuals possess more spare time and there would be a significant increase in productivity at work as employees have additional time to accomplish proposed tasks. On the other hand, other spheres, which I personally believe to be of more significance, are also worth being invested in such as cost and environment as such advantages may be associated with a shift towards public transport. Firstly, government subsidies, which are usually accompanied by higher costs, might fail to accommodate public demand. Reducing the fees will help to make it available to citizens, even the low-income ones. In conclusion, in terms of the improvement of public transport, ensuring sustainability and lowering the cost should be given more priority than boosting its speed. Moving on to the 21st century has now not only become as easy as we were at previous times but also very effective in advancing more for the future. Besides, faster cross-country public transport public services are instrumental in easing cross-region travel, creating a narrower gap between urban and rural areas.