In nearly all science courses at university, there are significantly more male students than female students. What is the reason for this? What could be done to balance out the numbers?

It is a well-known fact that male students considerably outnumber female ones in science disciplines in higher education. This essay will discuss why this happens and suggest solutions to deal with this situation. This imbalance can be attributed to a reason that people's stereotype for a long time. People tend to believe that girls excel at art and social skills, meanwhile, boys have better logical thinking to be able to solve challenging problems. However, scientists have no evidence to prove this difference in both genders’ brains. Due to this stereotype, female students are orientated to disciplines related to art, for example, by their parents rather than science ones, namely information technology. In addition, the image of scientists being isolated from everyone which is expressed by the media probably doesn’t appeal to girls to opt for the course. One of the main solutions could be that activists or female scientists break down this thinking with the help of the media. For instance, a series of videos about their study path in universities can be spread out to parents via a platform called youtube. Moreover, girls should be approached with science information from an early age by encouraging them to read some interesting articles. As a result, they might be familiar with them and feel more confident to overcome the stereotype. In conclusion, the imbalance can be attributed to a host of reasons, therefore to improve this scenario, people should change their thinking about girls’ potential and parents can help their kids be used to science.