Plagiarism* in all kinds of writing is becoming more frequent. Why is this happening? What should be done to solve the problem?

That people copy another person’s work without legal permission has become a broad subject among the public. The underlying cause of the copyright is attributed to the lack of ideas and commercial benefits. In that case, rough measures of plagiarized works should be taken into account. To begin with, that people, particularly students, composers, or book authors, tend to copy another person’s creation without authorization stems from the depletion of ideas. At school, it is teachers who may not present students with clear instructions and ideas. Therefore, students are likely to have difficulties understanding and finishing the assignments and fear having bad results. As a result, pupils somehow take advantage of referencing other people ’s documents and pretend it is their work to avoid low marks. Moreover, more and more people like authors or composers also tend to steal another person’s work to get financial benefits or achieve widespread fame. Since plagiarism is deemed a serious offense, feasible solutions should be proposed to tackle this issue. Firstly, most schools, especially universities and colleges, penalize students who plagiarize. Students caught copying another person’s work with no acknowledgment can get an F on their tests or homework. Also, those repeatedly committed to plagiarism can be expelled from school without getting back tuition fees. With regard to educators, in addition to designing assignments and exams that cannot be plagiarized, they should provide students with sufficient ideas so that each individual can expand the topi on their own without searching it on Google. Secondly, intellectual property rights must be applied extensively. For example, book authors or composers who copy another person’s creation for any purpose, such as financial benefit, must be punished heavily. They may be fined monetarily or sentenced to jail for months and even years. This way can act as a deterrent to prevent people from having an intention of plagiarizing. In conclusion, plagiarism in all kinds of writing is considered an illegal activity. While the lack of ideas mainly causes it, solutions relating to intellectual property rights and penality at college can help to address the problem.