Many claim that the fast-food industry had a negative effect on the environment, eating habits, and families. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Whether fast-food companies have severe impacts on the climate, the health of people, and families, have developed a considerable debate these days. A school of thought believes that there is no such negative impact of the junk food industry on the environment and health. Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that such kinds of industries affect the overall environment as well as human health significantly. Firstly, there are a plethora of severe side-effects of the consumption of junk foods, and recently many published reports supported this fact. The best example is a report of August 2021, published in a prestigious journal “Science” in which investigation was carried out over 2000 subjects for the analysis of harmful effects of junk foods. Unfortunately, the findings were so heart-breaking which revealed that almost 40% of participants who were habitual of fast foods, suffered from many deadly diseases such as heart attacks, sudden high blood pressure and cancer. Therefore, the rapid evolution of the fast-food industry has substantial negative effects on public health and eating habits. Secondly, the emergence of these industries has unfavourable effects on the environment and climate. For instance, the application of various kinds of non-renewable materials in the packaging of fast foods deteriorates and damages the climate. In addition to this, the production of these foods at a large scale in these industries generates a lot of wastage and other unwanted products. Eventually, these are discarded to rivers and some specific locations which possess a great threat again to the environment. Hence, the development of these events and processes due to the food industry showed their unfavourable approach towards the environment and human health. In conclusion, there are various threats by junk-food industries in terms of the public health, environment, and eating habits of the people. I believe that the threat to the environment could be managed and improved by employing the latest technology in industries. However, some other threats would not be reduced to the desired level.