Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People’s views vary as to whether or not school students should be assigned homework. While there are several solid reasons against the assignment of homework, I still feel that it is a crucial element of education. There are various reasons why individuals could feel that homework is an unneeded load on children. Firstly, there is evidence to support the concept that homework does little to increase educational results.Countries such as Finland, whose school pupils are not given homework, often top international educational league tables and outperform those where assigned homework is the norm. Secondly, many parents would agree that the school day is already long enough, and leaves their children too fatigued to conduct more study when they get home. Finally, it is accepted that playtime is equally as helpful as study time from the standpoint of brain development. In spite of the aforementioned considerations, I endorse the idea that homework has an essential function to play in the educating of children.The fundamental advantage of homework is that it develops autonomous learning and problem solving as students are forced to go through projects alone and at their own speed.In doing so, students must use the information that they have gained in the classroom. For example, by practising mathematical tasks at home, students cement their grasp of the principles given by their instructor at school.In my perspective, it is crucial for youngsters to acquire an independent study habit since this prepares them to work alone as adults. In conclusion, homework surely has its downsides, but I feel that the benefits outweigh them in the long run.