People’s shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Shopping become more popular, and some people argue that the lifestyle of expending is determined by age. In my perspective, I completely oppose this statement, because economic status and basic personality are crucial roles. The capacity of financial is the important that influences the behaviour of shopping. The more earn monthly, the more spend will be. Although this expenditure can be higher than the budget, people tend to overspend. However, this can be tackled to hire a financial consultant. Over the last two years in Indonesia, the massive growth of consumer new fancy cars such as Lamborghini, Ferrari and Tesla in conjunction with the population rise of billionaire society. Instead of buying higher-priced products, the majority people with limited financial wealthy will choose a standard car or second car. Therefore, the ability of finance will decide what kind of things that people afford to buy. Moreover, the other aspect is the personality of an individual. The hedonic person can be confident to follow the latest trend. In spite of buying the needed one, they prioritize momentary something desires, leading to rising their debts. To illustrate this, Jakarta citizens are willing to queue long to get the new iPhone Pro Max 13 and use a credit card to buy that. Statistic from Citibank, pandemic Covid-19 made 25% of people with high lifestyle had default payment on the credit card. Conversely, to limit the expenditure, others tend to repair broken gadgets than purchase new ones. In thus clear that one’s behaviour is the propensity of consumption. However, age may affect the habit of shopping. Impulsive buying is more common in adolescents. They buy something that they may not need. They invest more in gadgets, clothing, and personal care products. To recapitulate, the financial situation and personal habits are the key points of habit shopping. Despite, there is no denying that age is factor in spending but it is not an influential factor.