Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

In the modern world, the number of criminals who repeat offences after finishing their first sentence is increasing. This became a global problem that needs to be considered, and this essay will examine the causes of this phenomenon and preventive actions that need to be in place to solve this issue. To begin with, one of the reasons for committing a crime after imprisonment is the unstable economic state in many regions. To put it differently, I strongly believe that the strength of the economic situation in countries plays a major role in the rate of lawbreakers committing more crimes after the first punishment. For example, in Japan, the crime rate is extremely low, as people are enjoying relaxed and protected life. While in many poor countries, some people tend to repeat the delinquent behaviour, as they are not able to secure their basic living needs. Speaking about measures to resolve this possessing complexity, I think that governments should work on establishing a strong rehabbing system for prisoners. In other words, state organisations need to prepare criminals during the period of serving their punishments, so they can smoothly merge into society and become good citizens. To illustrate this point, many governments support prisoners to gain work skills that help them to start proper work and contribute to the development of the economy in the future. To sum up, the economic strength in every country has a directly proportional relationship with the rate of criminal activities being conducted by some people after being imprisoned for a period of time. Moreover, governments should be developing an efficient rehabbing system to convert those criminals into good individuals which will have a direct positive impact on the development of the country.