Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extend do you agree?

We live in an era where ignoring social media isn't an easy thing to do. Everything and everyone around us is connected to these sites like Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. This being the case starting from a piece of news, to know what is trending to be part of and to be aware of it requires social media. Facebook, by the time it was started, was more of a place where the public shared their opinions, interests, lifestyle and even their day to day happenings. The contents and videos shared by the various communities across the world, interest and engulf an individual into the world of Facebook. From being a place that was used to share common interests which helped individuals connect globally, to be pushed under peer pressure, Facebook has shown every face of it to us. To start off with the positives, it was one of its kind when it surfaced and it let individuals express everything, letting them connect across boundaries. If you're a creator then there is no better place for you to be in, than Facebook. Understanding the growth of Facebook and society's craze towards the medium, let advertisers take advantage. From being a creator's heaven to being an advertisers paradise Facebook has paved the way for every industry, eventually everything became easy under a fingertip and under one name, from shopping to trading, movies to sports every industry understood the importance of Facebook and invested in it in all ways. They sure did reap benefits. But where there only benefits? No. The negative impact Facebook has had on both individuals and society is quite enormous. The medium that was initially used to express yourself, started to put everyone under peer pressure. Things were simple when Facebook was all about expressing, but the peer pressure to be under the radar of having more likes and shares took a notch on every individual. To add to society's misery the social networking site brought a feature with reactions, only to let the public be more expressive. But, the hatred and the negative comments one had to go through in these sites when they express themself is bizarre. When it comes to such social networking sites, there is no right and no wrong. Every Jack, Jill and Harry have their say. Facebook takes a toll on one's mental health, when they fail to deliver as an individual or in the form of an organization. The need to be a part of it has only led to the fall of society. The addictive nature and the ease at which industries can target individuals are the major security concerns for an individual and for society. To conclude, there are stars that such sites like Facebook has identified and has given to the world. It has also ripped one's identity and their true nature. It definitely has its own share of positives and negatives, but at a point or there it is necessary that one should be sane enough to choose which side they are going to be. End of the day it is all about maintaining your mental wellness and being sane. In this social media eras, you either die as a hero or live long enough to see yourself become a villain. There is no in-between.