With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In the contemporary era, paper books are on the back seat due to the towering influence of online books. Although people often struggle with eye defects while reading on mobile and laptop, the benefits of saving money and time because of internet availability at every place can not be ignored. In my opinion, this trend has an equal number of banes and boons. Undoubtedly, there is not merely one, but a basketful of causative factors how e- books make people's life bed of roses, out of which, the most prominent one is that the internet is gaining momentum as it is ubiquitous, it has become the cheapest and convenient source to gather information which saves transit's money and time to visit libraries and shops. For instance, In Nepal, 80% of students prefer to read books from websites due to poor transportation and poor roads that wastes their time. Hence, online applications as an ocean of knowledge are very helpful to folks to gather required information at no cost. Having said that, when it comes to drawbacks then there are myriad. The main one is that the binge-watch of electronic devices can impact eyesight detrimentally by the reflection of the harmful X-rays. Just reading from a page for a long time can be hard for the eyes, some people lose their eyesight by continuous usage of e-devices such as laptops. According to a survey conducted by 'The Times', it is concluded that 80% of the multitudes in the world are suffering from weak eyesight as they spend 16 hours daily on laptops and Ipads to their study. Therefore, excessive usage of e-reading can open pandora's box. To conclude, there would be no exaggeration to state that the trend of electronic books is elevating. Even though the masses are facing an issue of eye weakness; however the advantages of the internet's accessibility at every nook and corner can not be neglected. In my opinion, I believe that the amplification of e- books have the same number of pros and cons.